CNM Forms Employee Wellness Committee

January 23, 2014 -- The CNM Human Resources department has established a Wellness Committee to encourage a culture of wellness at the college. It will consist of a diverse group of representatives from all campuses.

Jul 17, 2015

Among activities of the new committee will be to establish wellness programs to provide employees tools to help them become physically, emotionally and mentally healthier in the new year.

It’s a fact that employee health affects more than just medical costs. A healthy workforce is also a more productive workforce. Between 70 to 90 percent of health care spending is caused by preventable, modifiable health risks. Benefits of implementing a wellness program include:

  • Attracting the most talented workers
  • Reducing absenteeism and lost time
  • Improving on-the-job time utilization, decision making, and productivity
  • Improving employee morale
  • Reduction in turnover
  • Improved disease management and prevention
  • Lowering health care costs

Employee feedback is necessary for the success of a robust wellness program at CNM.  Employees will be asked to help by participating on wellness surveys or by providing suggestions on programs and activities they would like to see implemented and would be willing to actively participate.

The Human Resources department thanks the committee members who have agreed to volunteer their commitment, time, and expertise on wellness. This is the start of a wellness committee and the initiation of an ongoing effort to promote, encourage and support healthier lifestyles for CNM employees. You asked for it and now it is here. Join us in appreciation of the CNM “wellness champions” who will be serving on the committee: They include:

  • Allen Leatherwood, (Main Campus)
  • Andrea Sisneros-Wichman, (Workforce Training Center)
  • Anna Ortega, (Westside Campus)
  • Beth Giebus-Chavez, (Main Campus)
  • Eric Van, (Montoya Campus)
  • Gloria Penner, (Rio Rancho Campus)
  • Julie Fisher, (Main Campus)
  • Marleen Anzures, (South Valley Campus)
  • Neil Kueffer, (All Campuses)
  • Vanessa Mikan, (Main Campus)