Adult Basic Education

Description

Adult Basic Education (ABE) offers non-credit courses in English as a Second Language (ESL Program) and High School Equivalency Exam (HiSET) / General Educational Development (GED) Preparation.

Degrees & Certificates

The ABE program is a separate non-college credit component of CNM. You will receive the same services and benefits as other CNM students. However, ABE students do not follow the traditional admission or registration process and are not eligible for financial aid. 

Note: If you're 16 or 17 years old, you must provide the Underage Permission Form (Formulario de Permiso de Menoresin order to proceed to registration. Learn more about applying as an Underage Student.

Program Areas

English as a Second Language (ESL)

ESL is offered in 5-week courses at four (4) different levels. You can benefit from these courses if you are an adult who would like to improve your proficiency in English for professional, academic, or personal reasons. You will study reading, writing, speaking, and listening in a relaxed environment. You will learn about US culture while acquiring the language and self-confidence to handle daily challenges. Our instructors are qualified ESL professionals.

English as a Second Language (ESL) Program


High School Equivalency (HSE)

HSE courses are offered in 5-week sessions at four (4) different levels. You can benefit from these courses if you are an adult who wishes to obtain a high school equivalency diploma by taking one of the two exams approved by New Mexico for high school equivalency. These exams are

  • The General Education Development (GED) test; or
  • The High School Equivalency Test (HiSET).
  • Non-credit HSE courses are offered in language arts, math, science,  and social studies.
  • HSE language arts and math courses are available in Spanish. 
  • Teaching methods involve traditional classroom instruction, distance learning, and tutoring in small groups or one-on-one.

High School Equivalency (HSE) Program

Program Information

Non-credit courses in the ABE program are offered in basic reading, writing, math, science, social studies, and English as a Second Language. Coursework will prepare you for higher education, job advancement, and personal fulfillment.

Our program acknowledges and utilizes the experience, wisdom, and needs of adult learners to provide a pathway that can lead to success in college, careers, and the community.

Attendance

A student who misses the first class meeting and has not contacted the instructor, or who misses two consecutive class meetings in the first week, may be dropped from the course.

Students who are dropped by an instructor for non-attendance will be notified at their CNM e-mail address.

Please read our attendance policies.

Student Code of Conduct

Students are expected to be respectful, polite, and fully engaged in learning. All students must abide by the CNM Student Code of Conduct which includes both academic and non-academic guidelines. Please visit the Dean of Students webpage at the link provided for more information.

More Information

Related Links

ESL Virtual Orientation

HSE Virtual Orientation

Orientación virtual de ESL

Orientación virtual de HSE

Printable Flyers

ABE Program Printable Flyer 

ABE Program Printable Flyer (Espanol)

Student Computer Loaner Program

Loaner laptops are available to current ABE students. 

Dates & Deadlines

Spring 2024

Event Name Session A Session B
Last Orientation Saturday, January 6, 2024 Saturday, February 24, 2024
Last day to take the CASAS test Saturday, January 13, 2024 Saturday, March 2, 2024
Last day for student advising Wednesday, January 17, 2024 Wednesday, March 6, 2024
Last day to register Friday, January 19, 2024 Friday, March 8, 2024
Session Begins Monday, January 22, 2024 Monday, March 11, 2024
Session Ends Sunday, February 25, 2024 Sunday, April 14, 2024

Summer 2024

Event Name Session A Session B
Last Orientation Saturday, April 27, 2024 Saturday, June 15, 2024
Last day to take the CASAS test Saturday, May 4, 2024 Saturday, June 22, 2024
Last day to register Friday, May 10, 2024 Friday, June 28, 2024
Session Begins Monday, May 13, 2024 Monday, July 1, 2024
Session Ends Sunday, June 16, 2024 Sunday, August 4, 2024