Student Anna McCall Receives Regional AAWCC Scholarship

July 30, 2013 -- Members of the CNM chapter of the American Association for Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) gathered last week to honor Anna McCall who recently received a 2012-13 AAWCC scholarship for Region VI. The scholarship was for $500, which Anna applied to her fall tuition
July 16, 2015


Anna is a CNM student pursuing a degree in Construction Technologies with a concentration in Electrical Trades. Besides the AAWCC scholarship, she has received several awards and scholarships and was recognized at the CNM Foundation's annual event.

AAWCC is a national organization dedicated to developing, strengthening and promoting pathways to leadership for women in community colleges. The national organization sponsors a Leadership Institute and scholarships for members.

The CNM AAWCC chapter was established in 2009. In addition to the national mission, the CNM chapter strives to: recruit, promote and celebrate diverse women; encourage and support professional and personal development for women in the community college role; create opportunities for women at CNM to be part of a community of learners and leaders; and celebrate women in non-traditional roles.

Every year the local chapter has two major events. In the fall, the AAWCC cohosts a dinner with the CNM Culinary Arts Program. The Women in Non-traditional (WIN) Awards Reception is held in the spring. Anna also received the Student of Promise WIN Award in 2012. This year, the AAWCC CNM Chapter offered two additional events to members:  USDA Healthy Meals class and Your Professional Edge Business Etiquette Presentation.

Among those to celebrate Anna’s recent accomplishment were Monika Monje, MSE Achievement Coach; LouAnne Lundgren, SAGE Interim Dean; Theresa Torres, School Relations Manager; Michelle Felicia Renteria, AAWCC CNM Chapter President; Erica Volkers, CHSS Dean and AAWCC CNM Chapter Past-President; Magda Martinez, TRiO Director; Lisa Chakos Knapp, Career Technical Education Outreach Manager; Julie Fisher, Employee Training Director; Donna Diller, BIT Dean; Sionna Grassbaugh, Director Workforce Programs; Erin Kruft-Johnson,  Workforce Training Center Program Coordinator; Amanda Martinez, MCO Outreach Manager; Ruby Encinas, CHSS Achievement Coach; and Glenda Davis, CHSS Communication Faculty.