You are here: Home / Programs of Study / All Programs (A-Z) / Culinary Arts / Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee

Information on Culinary Arts Advisory Committee


The purpose of the CNM Hospitality, Tourism and Culinary Arts Advisory Committee is to guide the direction of the programs.  Members provide input for the program and curriculum to remain relevant to business and industry needs.  Relevant instruction offers opportunities for School of Business & Information Technology students to acquire up-to-date job skills.  Business leaders provide an informed viewpoint that is valuable to the educational process.

Advisory committees present opportunities for CNM to: create partnerships between programs and the industries and communities they serve, and to promote public awareness of CNM programs.


Advisory committees guide the program in the following ways:

  • Provide input to keep the school, departments, or programs up-to-date on current and relevant business, industry, and community needs.
  • Recommend course and/or curriculum design for new programs, review proposed curriculum changes in existing programs, and suggest additions, deletions or revisions to curriculum.
  • Participate in surveys for local employment needs.
  • Participate in determining skill levels needed by the business and industry community.
  • Engage in marketing the programs.

Length of Service

The term of service is for three years. Advisory committees normally meet formally twice a year, in which a working breakfast, lunch, or dinner meeting is held. Frequent communication via e-mail is encouraged.  Subcommittees are created as needed.

The School of Business & Information Technology values the input, recommendations, and contributions of advisory committee members. If you are interested in serving on this committee, please contact the program director, Donna Diller, for information at 224-3896.


Greg Archuleta
Meals on Wheels

Wes Bassett

Spankie Lou Bassett
New Mexico Lodging Association

Miskee Blatner
Manzano High School

Shane Clark
Prairie Star Restaurant

Alice Garcia
Flying Star

Shamaine Giannini
Albuquerque Convention & Visitors Bureau

Heather Gillespie
Manzano High School

Eduardo Jones
National Restaurant Supply

David Latham
Rio Rancho High School

Tania Lovato
Bernalillo High School

April Lund
Sweet Blessings Cafe & Bakery

Penny McCallister
Rio Rancho Independent High School

Dave Minneman
Zanios Foods, Inc.

Ed Pulsifer
Heritage Hotels

Victoria Sanchez Martinez
New Mexico Restaurant Association

Virginia Schroeder
Preferred Brokerage Company

Sharon Schultz
Tourism Association of New Mexico

Jeff Trent
Casa Vieja Restaurant

JT Troth
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque

Patty Waid
Waid & Associates

Melissa Weber
West Mesa High School

Ivan Wiener
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Ken "Woody" Wood
Woody's Sports Cafe

If you are a member of the Hospitality, Tourism and Culinary Arts Advisory Committee and would like to be on this list, please contact Donna Diller at 224-3896 to sign a release form.