National Student Honor Society Selects CNM President Tracy Hartzler for Paragon President Award

CNM students nominated President Hartzler for the award that honors college leaders for demonstrating strong support of student success initiatives and for supporting student leadership development
February 10, 2022

CNM President Tracy Hartzler is among 20 college leaders nationwide to be honored with the Paragon President Award from Phi Theta Kappa, the premier national honor society for high-achieving students at two-year colleges. The 20 winners were selected from more than 400 presidents, chancellors and CEOs who were eligible for the award.

President Hartzler was nominated by students in CNM’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK). The award is for relatively new college leaders who have served less than three years and it recognizes college presidents who have demonstrated outstanding support of student success.

“Your nomination and selection for this award is recognition that your Phi Theta Kappa students have your support,” the PTK award letter to President Hartzler reads. “This year, you worked to mentor and develop student leaders in completely unfamiliar circumstances. Racial and political unrest, and a global pandemic made 2021 one of the most challenging years in recent history—one that you have worked exceptionally hard to overcome. Your nomination is evidence of the gratitude your PTK students feel for supporting them and students like them—even during the most difficult times.”

The award winners were selected for displaying strong support of student success initiatives that lead to more effective pathways to completion, transfer, and employment. And for taking an active role in supporting high-achieving students and supporting their leadership activities.

“These college presidents have students-first leadership styles and have made it a priority to keep students engaged throughout the pandemic,” says Phi Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner. “Their nomination is evidence of the gratitude their PTK students feel for supporting them and students like them – even during the most difficult times.”

The 20 winners of the Paragon President Award will be honored in April at the Phi Theta Kappa Annual Convention in Denver.

“To be nominated for this award by our outstanding students at CNM makes this moment so meaningful to me,” said President Hartzler. “And I share the credit for this award with our exceptional faculty and staff at CNM. All of us are focused intently on advancing efforts that support the education, development and success of all of our students. I wouldn’t have been nominated for this award if it weren’t for our students who feel so supported and valued by the faculty and staff they interact with every day. I look forward to joining our PTK students in Denver to celebrate their achievements and this recognition.”

In September 2021, President Hartzler was among 25 community college presidents nationwide to be selected for the 2021-22 class of the Aspen New Presidents Fellowship by the Aspen Institute College Excellence Program. The program supports community college presidents in the early years of their tenure as they aim to achieve higher and more equitable levels of student success.

About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. Learn more at